Home Contact Us

The American Association of Immunologists

Education Committee

Committee Role

The AAI Education Committee is dedicated to promoting science education and helping its members in science outreach activities. These include the AAI Immunology Courses, Summer Research Program for Teachers, AAI Undergraduate Science Faculty Program, Grant Review for Immunologists Program ("GRIP"), and committee-sponsored symposia at the AAI Annual Meeting.

We sponsor the annual AAI Courses in Immunology. Taught by world-renowned immunologists, the courses are broken down into an Introductory Course and an Advanced Course, which occur every summer.

We also sponsor a Summer Research Program for Teachers, make available the exercises produced by its participants, present additional exercises for use at various K-12 grade levels, and provide information on mentoring a teacher or student or visiting a school in your area.

Through the AAI Undergraduate Science Faculty Program, the committee is committed to assisting undergraduate faculty by offering them the opportunity to attend an intensive introductory course in immunology and also take part in a hands-on laboratory experience. By helping faculty teach immunology to undergraduate students, develop curricula, and form research collaborations, we hope to enhance their ability to introduce undergraduate students to the excitement and experimental approaches that define the field of immunology and, at the same time, promote research opportunities available to scientists at undergraduate teaching institutions.

The Grant Review for Immunologists Program ("GRIP") invites new PIs to submit an outline or NIH-style abstract to the GRIP coordinator who, with the assistance of a small volunteer subcommittee, will attempt to match the topic of the proposal with the research experience of an established PI. Matches will be made as quickly as possible to allow new PIs to meet upcoming NIH grant deadlines. Participation is strictly voluntary and is not intended to preclude internal mentoring programs.

Each year the committee sponsors an education symposium at the AAI Annual Meeting.

2016-2017 Committee Members

John G. Frelinger, Ph.D. (17), Chair
Professor of Microbiology
University of Rochester
John Frelinger website

Clinton B. Mathias, Ph.D. (17)
Associate Professor
Western New England University
Clinton Mathias website

Julie Jameson, Ph.D. (18)
Associate Professor
California State University, San Marcos
Julie Jameson website

David Mullins, Ph.D. (18)
Assistant Professor
Geisel School of Medicine at Dartmouth
David Mullins website

Steven M. Varga, Ph.D. (18)
University of Iowa
Steven Varga website

Anil K. Bamezai, Ph.D. (’19)
Villanova University
Anil Bamezai website

Kerry Anne Casey, Ph.D. (’19)
Scientist II
MedImmune, LLC
Kerry Casey website

Edith Porter, M.D. ('19)
California State University Los Angeles
Edith Porter website

Michelle Anne Swanson-Mungerson, Ph.D. (’19)
Associate Professor
Midwestern University
Michelle Swanson-Mungerson website



© The American Association of Immunologists, Inc.
1451 Rockville Pike, Suite 650 | Rockville, Maryland 20852 | Phone: (301) 634-7178 | Fax: (301) 634-7887
Email: infoaai@aai.org | Website feedback: AAI Webmaster